Learning Models

The Santa Lucia Holistic Learning Model guides our planning. It shapes how we structure both the school calendar, school days, and our lessons.

There are 3 dimensions to our model: 

1) Holistic and child-centered 2) The Six Learning Pillars 3)The Eight Learning Pathways

At Santa Lucia, Child-Centered means:

At the center of our holistic learning model is a belief in honoring the intrinsic learning drive and innate individual worthiness of the child.

At Santa Lucia, Holistic means:

An all-encompassing approach that aims to...

• Nurture the physical, emotional, social and intellectual growth of each student.

•Take into account each child's unique individuality and interconnectedness with nature and the world around them.

• Emphasize the integration of academic learning with real-world experiences.

• Foster a deep understanding of ecological concepts and sustainable practices with personal and emotional wellbeing.

• Promote a harmonious balance between academic, experiential, and outdoor learning.

• Santa Lucia School strives to cultivate resilient, conscious, and compassionate individuals who are equipped with the diverse skills and knowledge to thrive in an interconnected world.

Six Learning Pillars:

Our holistic model is based on six fundamental learning pillars. These pillars provide guidance to the weekly and daily schedules.

Eight Learning Pathways:

Our holistic learning model and six learning pillars are taught through an integrated approach that includes eight core learning pathways. 

These modes of learning weave into the students day, allowing them to:

• learn from diverse experiences

• initiate of their own learning

• generalize content across subjects

• grow competence and confidence in a variety of skills

    • Assume positive intent: Assuming positive intent allows you to approach situations with a more open mind, leading to improved relationships, reduced conflict and increased individual and collective growth.
    • Listening: Deep listening allows for deeper understanding and empathy.
    • Seek unity, clarity, and connection: Unity allows us to be on the same page even though we may not always agree. Through unity we can listen to each other with curiosity and find clarity.
    • Honor the differences: Our differences create a beautiful and rich tapestry. We benefit from each other’s differences.
    • Speak the unspoken: Unspoken thoughts and feelings leave huge gaps between us. Speaking them aloud breaks the tension in the conversation and allows transparency and clarity as a result.
    • Knowing when to speak: There is a time to speak your truth, and a time to listen. Seek to use well-chosen words with deep consideration for the impact those words will have on the ones receiving them.
    • Discernment: Discernment removes the energy that is criticism or judgement and replaces it with curiosity about our differences and how they add value to the conversation or connection.
    • Accept responsibility: To accept responsibility is to exhibit the courage to fully own our thoughts, words, and deeds with the intention of moving toward unity and connection.
    • The OUT BREATH is gratitude: Reflect and find gratitude for the experiences and lessons that bring us into deeper compassion, connection, understanding and unity.